Awards

American College of Rheumatology (ACR): Awards and Recognitions 2003

- * Peter Dent of McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario was elected to Master of the ACR.
- * Ross Petty of Vancouver was presented the James T. Cassidy Award by the American Academy of Pediatrics.
- * Sindhu Johnson and Tuhina Neogi (picture to the right), who both trained at the University of Toronto, were two of 10 recipients of the Fellows Awards recognizing excellence in research, clinical programs and service.

Contributed by Carter Thorne, MD, FRCPC
 Secretary-treasurer, Canadian Rheumatology Association
 Medical Director, Arthritis Program Research Group



Canadian Pediatric Rheumatology Contributions to the 2003 ACR Meeting

Canadian pediatric rheumatologists continue to make major contributions to the annual ACR meeting and 2003 was no exception. Ross Petty (British Columbia Children's Hospital and University of British Columbia), was awarded the James T. Cassidy American Academy of Pediatrics Award and Susanne Benseler (Toronto's Hospital for Sick Children and the University of Toronto) was awarded the Earl Brewer Award for best paper by a pediatric rheumatology fellow.

Ciaran Duffy (Montreal Children's Hospital and McGill University) was the Chair of the Pediatric Abstract Selection Committee. Ron Laxer (Toronto Hospital for Sick Children and the University of Toronto) was elected to the Executive of the Pediatric Section of the ACR.

There were a total of 21 abstracts presented by members of the Canadian Pediatric Rheumatology Association (CPRA). All in all, another great year for the CPRA!

-Contributed by Ronald M. Laxer, MD, FRCPC
Vice President, Clinical and Academic Affairs
The Hospital for Sick Children
Professor of Pediatrics and Medicine
University of Toronto